Banks will remain closed for 14 days next month; See the full list

Public holidays in July 2022: After a month of fewer public holidays in June, private and public lenders in several parts of India are expected to see a good number of public holidays in July 2022. There are up to 14 public holidays in July this year. July is going to start in a few days which means there will be a new set of public holidays in July which will come into force as per the schedule prepared by the Reserve Bank of India. The RBI prepares a calendar for each month where public holidays are mentioned.

There are 14 public holidays in July, as mentioned earlier, seven of which are weekends. On the other hand, there are eight regional holidays during which lenders in certain specific regions remain closed due to occasions in those particular regions. If we add the two categories, there will be 15 public holidays. However, Bakrid, which is a regional public holiday for Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram, falls on July 9, which is the second Saturday of the month when all banks are closed. Therefore, the July 9 public holiday collides, which means that there are 14 public holidays in July.

Public holidays come into effect according to a list prepared by the RBI each year. This list includes leaves divided into three categories: “Negotiable Instruments Act Leave”, “Negotiable Instruments Act Leave and Real-Time Gross Settlement Leave” and “Close Bank Accounts “. According to the list, different branches remain closed on different occasions, depending on the festival in the area. Apart from this, there are nationwide public holidays, where all private and public sector branches remain closed. Branches of all public sectors, private sector, foreign banks, cooperative banks and regional banks remain closed on public holidays notified by the RBI.

In this regard, it should be noted that the holidays that fall under the negotiable instruments law vary from region to region. Here is a complete list of public holidays in July 2022.

List of leave in accordance with the Leave Act in the form of negotiable securities:

July, 1st: Kang (Rathajatra)/ Ratha Yatra—Bhubaneshawar

July 7: Kharchi Puja—Agartala

July 9th : ld-Ul-Ad’ha (Bakrid) – Kochi, Thiruvananthapuram; Banks will also be closed across the country as it is the second Saturday of the month

11 July : Eid-ul-Azha—Srinagar, Jammu

July 13: Bhanu Jayanti—Gangtok

July 14th : Beh Dienkhlam — Shillong

July 16: Harela — Dehradun

July 26: Ker Puja—Agartala

Apart from that, there are seven weekends, including the one between Bakrid, when banks will be closed across the country. These are mentioned below

List of weekend holidays

July 3: First Sunday

July 9th : Second Saturday + Bakrid

July 10: Second Sunday

July 17: Third Sunday

July 23: fourth saturday

July 24: fourth sunday

July 31 : fifth sunday

Therefore, if you have bank-related jobs, you should contact your local branch to confirm public holidays in July this year as per your region to avoid any hassle.

Read all the latest news, breaking news, watch the best videos and live TV here.